Author Topic: spinal fluid leak  (Read 4767 times)

silverdolphin

spinal fluid leak
« on: August 16, 2005, 10:11:24 am »
Hi, I am new at this and had a hard time figuring out how to get a box like this to type in.  Still not sure I've got it.  I clicked on the new post button for this but what to you click on if it is not a new topic?

I had surgery on July 11 for a left acoustic neuroma.  Right after the surgery I had something leak out of my left nostril one drop at a time.  This only happened when I stood up after lying down for awhile or when I bent over. The nurses asked about it everyday but  I could never get a feel for how much spinal fluid had to leak out in order for it to be a problem.  Last week I thought it finally stopped.  No leaks for several days.  One of those days was when I had an appt w/ the neurosurgeon.  He asked about the leak and I told him it has stopped. He said "good".  But the very next day it leaked again and continues. I worry that it might be a problem

I am not scheduled to see the neurosurgeon again because he thinks I am doiing great.  Several people have told me to call the neurosurgeon's office and ask them how important th leak is.  I really don't want to do this because 1) his office is 80 miles from my house in the midst of the Washington, D.C. traffic  nightmare and 2) I'm afraid he will want me to come back so he can do some other surgical procedure to stop the leak.  I've had enough medical stuff for now.

Can someone help me with this?
Left AN 3.5cm removed 7/11/05
Drs. Donald Wright & David Schessel, Virginia Hospital Center
deaf on the left
Surgery 10/29/05 to stop CSF leak

Jeff

Re: spinal fluid leak
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2005, 10:18:38 am »
Hi,