Author Topic: how capable am i now?  (Read 7417 times)

Patti

how capable am i now?
« on: April 29, 2007, 10:50:05 am »
i feel blue today.  why today, i don't know.  i had surgery 6 1/2 years ago (4 cm) and subsequent brain swelling so they had to go in again and remove some brain tissue to allow room for swelling.  I was hospitalized for 7 weeks and outpatient therapies for 6 months.  i was 38 and had 2 pre-teen girls.  It was a blessing of sorts to not return to a demanding job and be home more to raise my girls.  The teenage years are tough and i was able to navigate my family through those years.  i have been physically active since then to keep the balance problems from worsening.  i have been mentally active-volunteering at first in a hospital, the a part-time job in a science laboratory, learned to knit, refreshed my skills in spanish by taking it for a year and now tutoring a spanish girl to speak english.  i now work as a part-time paralegal learning many new things.  but i never seem to be satisfied with myself.  i feel that if i am not the science teacher that i was then i am a quitter.  i make mistakes but usually catch them because i work at my own pace now-not that of a classroom of teenagers. my husband tells me i can't go back to teaching (he too is a teacher).  he notices my fatigue and its affect on me.  i will have an empty nest soon now that my girls are older and i will be 45.  sure i can fill up my life with things and i do but i still wonder if i can be a teacher.  am i too old?  do students respond well to someone this age and with a half paralyzed face?  i also am half deaf.  patti
4 cm AN removed 12/2000
subsequent brain swelling
removal of part of cerebellum
face, scalp,tongue numbness and partial paralysis
no corneal sensation and no tears-frequent eye issues
cognitive issues
Regrowth (3.1 x ..86 cm) treated by SRS on November 6, 2015

nancyann

• carpe diem
Re: how capable am i now?
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2007, 11:41:15 am »