Author Topic: is this norma?l  (Read 3206 times)

satman

is this norma?l
« on: June 10, 2007, 12:27:13 pm »
hi everybody newbie here.
i am 41 yrs old had a lemon size an and doc said i would have been in a casket in 6 months if i didnt have surgery so as of today i am 2 months and 1  day off of the table,it was a 17hr surgery and my question is should i still be using this walker,also i have to put this gel on left eye yet it closes most the way just not completley,how long do i have to keep gelling?its weird having people wait on your every need,thats getting old ! just have a mild droop on left side lip,drink from a straw or i wear it,eating tends to be very messy,and my face feels numb,on top off all that i talk funny,and permanently deaf in left ear.does all this sound normal,how long does it take to get strength back in knees  and legs,just to walk again?does it sound normal?                   

thanks every body,kind of venting,sorry
                                                            john........ 
kicked my little 8cm buddy to the curb-c ya !

Jim Scott

• 1943-2020 Please keep Jim's family in your hearts
Re: is this norma?l
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2007, 02:08:17 pm »
Hi, satman:

Sorry to read of your post-op complications - but welcome to the forum.

There really isn'tany definite time-frame for healing from major surgery.  However, being just 2 months out of surgery means that you are far from totally healed.  Every AN 'postie' (post-surgical) patient has a different experience, as you can see from reading some of the posts on this and the other AN forums.  Some patients come out of surgery with few (if any) problems while others have a multitude of issues to deal with. Your level of hearing loss pre-surgery, the placement of the tumor, the surgeon's skill and other factors all go into the final results when you're wheeled out of the operating room.