Author Topic: flying after AN surgery  (Read 5473 times)

MCE

flying after AN surgery
« on: November 25, 2005, 12:37:25 pm »
Hi all,

Newbie here.  I've been diagnosed with a 2cm AN on the left side.  I'm scheduled to have it surgically removed on 1/4/06, by Dr. Jacques Herzog in St. Louis.  My question is... Do any of you have any experience with Flying after surgery?  Do balance problems improve with time?  I've flown for a living since 1990, so I think I'll be looking for a new career.  Thanks!

David707

Re: flying after AN surgery
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2005, 12:53:21 pm »
Hi,

I had my 2.5 cm NA reomved in Jan'05.  I had my 1st oversea trip after surgery to Asia in March 05.  two more simlar trips since then.  For my case, flying itself has not been an issue at all.  For my first one, the company I works for was really concerned.  I consulted with my doctor twice and got a written approval before I went.

I do think flying should not be an issue after the surgery.  However, it could be different from one case to the other.  You would wnat to check with your own doctor.  Good luck.

David(707) 
2.5cm / Jan'05 / 53 yr
Dr. Vrabec & Dr. Trask / Houston
Excellent outcome and peaceful mind
Praise the lord !

nannettesea

« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2005, 02:25:44 pm »
My doc said wait a month to fly--others have said 2-3 weeks.  I waited a month, no problems.
Nan
1.7cm x 1.4cm x .8cm, right ear
Trans-lab approach
Dr. Jay Rubinstein, U of WA
8/29/05

debora

« Reply #3 on: November 25, 2005, 04:37:55 pm »
Nan,