Author Topic: need advice  (Read 4313 times)

Sammict

need advice
« on: July 16, 2008, 10:31:45 am »
Hi Everyone

I had sinus surgery 3 years ago. Back then I used to get this leak from my nose everytime I bent over but I thought nothing of it I thought is was just my sinuses getting clear.

The problem would go away everytime i would get an infection which was alot. My problem is back and I thinks it's because I just had surgery on my ear drum in preperation for AN surgery this fall. My sinuses have cleared up since that surgery and the leak is back.

It is clear fluid and drips on a whim I can't control it. is it possible I have been leaking for 3 years with no other symptoms?

I have an appt next Thursday but i'm afraid to bring it up. Has anyone had anything similar could it possible be CSF leak?

Thanks Sam

Tamara

Re: need advice
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2008, 10:41:58 am »
I suppose it could be - but don't really know.  I would talk to your doctor about it - if it IS a leak, you don't want to risk infection - meningitis.  If fluid can get out, bacteria or viruses can get it.  Best to be careful.

Tammy
7 mm AN left side
translab 6-12-08
postop issues including CSF leak, eye issues, and facial palsy.  All issues resolved at 9 mos. except slight facial palsy & weakness.  Continuing to improve...

cmp

« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2008, 10:49:46 am »
I agree with Tammy, bring it up with your doctor. Maybe it's nothing, maybe not. Your doc will be glad to rule out a problem or, if need be, help you head one off at the pass!

5 cm AN surgery, Shands Hospital, FL, Dr Albert Rhoton, 1988; VII-XII anastamosis for right-sided facial palsy 1989; diagnosed Feb 2008 w/ 1.8 cm recurrence; drs McKenna & Martuza; surgery rescheduled for 6/24/08!

Syl

• Forgive me. I'm having an AN moment.
« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2008, 10:49:59 am »
Sam,