Author Topic: empty nest in 2 days  (Read 2229 times)

Patti

empty nest in 2 days
« on: August 30, 2008, 05:37:46 pm »
I am feeling scared and i am sorry to whine about this but no one in my life can really understand this-even myself.  I know i have told this story before, but i need to talk.  i was a full time science teacher at the time of my diagnosis and subsequent surgeries and rehabilitation.  i was eventually put on permanent disability.  i rationalized this as being a blessing because it enabled me to be a better mom to my two girls by having less stress and more free time for them. tomorrow i take my child back to college after bringing the other last week.  i never have figured out what i want for when they are gone and now the time is here.  i have tried lots of things while i was home these years, and even have worked part-time, but i still haven't figured out what i love in life.  i feel like i have this gift of an empty nest but don't know what to do with the freedom.  i have tried too! knitting, writing, spanish language, yoga, volunteering, etc..  nothing has grabbed me.  my husband said i should put it out of my mind until next week.  i know he's right but in a way i have put my disability out of my mind for 8 years because i had a family to raise.  now i don't know what to make of my life.  i am 46 years old (almost) and don't know what i want to do with my life.  there probably is nothing anyone can say to help me.  i have to feel it and i don't.  i only feel anxiety over this new freedom.  does anyone have any advice for me?  patti
4 cm AN removed 12/2000
subsequent brain swelling
removal of part of cerebellum
face, scalp,tongue numbness and partial paralysis
no corneal sensation and no tears-frequent eye issues
cognitive issues
Regrowth (3.1 x ..86 cm) treated by SRS on November 6, 2015

Cheryl R

Re: empty nest in 2 days
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2008, 06:31:49 pm »