Author Topic: New to this.  (Read 3327 times)

hayneshome

New to this.
« on: October 21, 2008, 07:47:14 pm »
So glad to have a place to go.  I found out this morning that I have an AN. The doctor was sure it was Meniere's disease untill he got the MRI results. Even after the MRI, he thought it maybe was just a glitch on the films so he had me get an ABR test and it was very conclusive to say the least.  At least I have an answer to why, but somehow, it doesn't seem to help. The AN is small 3-4mm but it has been disableing for me.  I am dizzy all the time and fighting tinnitis and nausea. I was a long haul truck driver untill a month ago. Please tell me there is longterm hope to be normal again.

MAlegant

• 50th birthday party pic
Re: New to this.
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2008, 08:21:32 pm »
Hi,
If it helps any, I'm at 3 months post-op and pretty much back to normal.  (I had surgery)  Your AN is small so perhaps radiation is something you can explore.  Do your research. And look forward to lots of folks posting and trying to help you.  This is a great group.   Did you say where you are located? 
Best,
Marci
3cmx4cm trigeminal neuroma, involved all the facial nerves, dx July 8, 2008, tx July 22, 2008, home on July 24, 2008. Amazing care at University Hospitals in Cleveland.

Kaybo

« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2008, 08:28:15 pm »
Hello & Welcome~ 
There is HOPE!!  AN's can lead to some interesting things, but life can be lived to the fullest (even if it is a LITTLE altered), after AN (you can check out my blog - address at bottom - & see what life is like for me 12 years out).  Marci is right in saying that your tumor is on the small side so you have LOTS of options.  I'm sorry that it is already causing you so much trouble - hopefully you can get that taken care of & feel better soon!  Please ask us any question you have and know that we are here for you.  It is VERY scary to be diagnosed with a brain tumor - take a deep breath & remember that it is benign...

K