Author Topic: Cyber Knife or Gamma Knife Radiation Treatment 3 years later??  (Read 1791 times)

rosewang

Cyber Knife or Gamma Knife Radiation Treatment 3 years later??
« on: December 03, 2008, 04:51:35 pm »
Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie really leaning towards cyberknife but was concerned about the long term effects of radiation. With surgery, it seems like you'll know immediately what the results are but with radiation, it's a game of wait and see.  Of those of you who have had cyberknife or gamma knife, can you please comment on if you're hearing has been affected 3 years post treatment? Any other effects that have emerged since your treatment?

Thanks and God Bless,

Rose

Palace

• Palace
Re: Cyber Knife or Gamma Knife Radiation Treatment 3 years later??
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2008, 05:07:10 pm »
Hello Rose,

I was diagnosed in the summer of 06' and had TX @ the end of Nov. and early Dec. of 06' and just had my 6th brain MRI.  I was looking forward to the next reading however, even with my reminder that the wrong CD was given to me the last time, I had to resend another as Stanford couldn't open it.  Stanford has been good to me.  This was a small problem at the MRI place in Santa Cruz, CA.

Almost a year ago, I had about half my hearing left in the right ear; now, it's almost at zero.  I just went to the audiologist and she assured me it will be at zero on the AN side, very soon.  It may as well be at zero anyway with background noise, I'm rather deaf as most on this list, understand.  Even though you have the one good side, (which will not be so good with aging) you don't hear the same way as if you had both sides working for you.

I'm glad I chose CK however, I was lucky to have that choice as my AN was 22mm and I had the option of Cyberknife.  There are many factors to consider; size, your age, shape of AN, surgery options and what is most important to you.