Author Topic: Awful Taste  (Read 4128 times)

JohnnyDiaz

Awful Taste
« on: December 22, 2008, 10:03:45 pm »
I am a newbie and had my surgery 2 months ago. About 2 days ago I started having this awful taste in my mouth sort of like licking rust (mostly just the tip of my tongue). I did have the metallic taste but not bad right after surgery.

I spoke to my dentist and he said that it probably is not some old dental work.  Has anyone else had this issue?
Diagnosed 6/08 - 2.5 cm Left AN
9.5hr surgery 10/7/08 w/Dr. Chandler and Dr. Green Baptist Hospital - Jax, Fl
Post Op Complications - Additional Surgeries 10/12 & 10/13
SSD on Left
7 months later I feel great!!!

yardtick

• I have to keep smiling, or else I WILL cry.
Re: Awful Taste
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2008, 09:54:13 am »
The awful taste or metallic taste is a very common after surgery.  It takes awhile for it to literally disappear.  I sucked a lot of mints for many, many months and than all of a sudden that metallic taste was gone. 

I was so devastated after surgery because I could not drink wine, yuck the taste was just so terrible.  My husband is Italian and he makes several award winning wines and I couldn't enjoy any of it.  Patience, patience and more patience, now I drink wine after more than two years post op.

I still suck a lot of mints today.  I find when my mouth gets dry and I have just a hint of that metalliciness.  Is that a word?  Well it is now!!  I carry mints in all of my coat pockets and purses.

Anne Marie
Sept 8/06 Translab
Post surgical headaches, hemifacial spasms and a scar neuroma. 
Our we having fun YET!!! 
Watch & Wait for more fun & games

cherrypiper

• Hope is what this is all about
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2008, 01:27:40 pm »
post op taste yes.........from all the stuff they give us i would assume.........

Months later? only every once in awhile for me.......now the steroids they gave me for healing sure did that  metal taste.....