Author Topic: Many Questions  (Read 4449 times)

joeyg

Many Questions
« on: December 25, 2008, 11:20:34 am »
Hello,

I am new to this group an have many questions regarding treatment of my AN. I was diagnosed in November and have surgery scheduled for Jan 7.

I am from Woodstock, GA and have chosen local surgeons at a local hospital. My AN at time of MRI was 13mm x 8mm x 9mm. The doctors offered me all treatment options including cyberknife. I have chosen a hearing preservation approach.

Here are some of my questions and/or concerns. Thank you in advance for your time to answer my questions.

Merry Christmas

Joey

1 - Is my AN small, medium, or large?
2 - When if at all did you go on disability for your treatment time. (I am a snigle father of a 8 yr old son)
3 - Doc is telling me I'll be down six weeks max. How accurate is that?
4 - Being single what is average time away from driving?
5 - I am an outside salesman for building materials. How long before I should expect to me able to be 100%?

I will stop at 5 I have a million more but maybe I'll add more later.

Thanks again

Kathy M

• Kathy
Re: Many Questions
« Reply #1 on: December 25, 2008, 11:35:01 am »
HI!  I'm a newbie too, so can't offer any advice other than you've found a great "home" and you'll be getting some great advice.  The folks here are like a warm blanket to me.  My surgery is January 13 for a large AN (mine is 3+cm), so I didn't have any choices but to have it surgically removed.  Good luck and stay plugged in to this wonderful group. Merry Christmas!!!!
AN diagnosed 11/14/08, 3+cm, Retrosigmoid 1/13/09, Univ. Hosp., Cincinnati, Drs. Tew and Pensak
no facial nerve or eye issues!
3 more surgeries related to staph infections & osteomylitis over next 13 months.  New diagnosis of breast cancer.  Treatment completed 08/27/10.  Moving on!!!

Joef

• ** I rather be Kayak Fishing **
« Reply #2 on: December 25, 2008, 02:15:40 pm »
First let me say Welcome from one Joe to Another!  ;D