Author Topic: just diagnosed & *freaking out*  (Read 5217 times)

heidi g

• adventures of addy, amelia, & griswold
just diagnosed & *freaking out*
« on: June 24, 2009, 01:31:00 pm »
so, this is my first time finding this board. yea! i have joined one specifically for ohio (all 4 members have the same doctor as i do, which is helpful). the thing that is NOT helpful: my doctor being out of town right after diagnosing me & then his office moving after he returns into town. so i was given this dinosaur of a diagnosis, scheduled surgery for july 28th (at ohio state university) & am now suffering from severe anxiety. anyone else have anxiety? i'm on some anxiety meds, but they knock me out, so i can't take them during the day. anyway, don't want to whine! i do have two kids, girls, ages 2 1/2 & 10 months; i am 28 (hhmm, will be 29 at time of surgery), married to a very kind & helpful (& good looking, lol) man for 6 years.

what i am wondering about is why some of you chose the surgery over the other options. my doc explained that with my tumor size (10.2 x 13.9mm) & then my age, surgery is the best option. with the material he gave me, i agree. but i am still freaking out about this surgery. i mean, they are cutting into my skull, pulling something out of my brain with nerves wrapped around, eh?! (i am not usually a freak out person, either, btw. childbirth twice with no pain meds & pitocin, i think i can handle the pain & being calm under pressure part). this has just thrown me for a loop.

what advice does anyone have?

what post-op symptoms were most pervasive? i know it's different for everyone...but does it seem that the symptoms you went in with are the ones that you suffer the most with post-op? i don't exactly have time to search & read the previous messages (lol, i have two kids under 3, 'nuff said).