Author Topic: Top CK centers  (Read 3343 times)

carolk

Top CK centers
« on: March 13, 2006, 11:20:35 am »
Hi All,
   I plan to send my MRIs out for some opinions and want to see what a center that uses CK has to say.  I'd be most grateful for suggestions on which CK centers (and doctors) have the best reputations.
   Many thanks!

shoegirl

Re: Top CK centers
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2006, 08:01:30 pm »
Carol,

I am by no means an expert, but depending on where you live - Barrow's Institute - Phoenix, AZ,  Stanford - S.F. ,CA , UPMC - Pittsburgh, PA all have great reputations.  I would look for a center that has doctors that have experience with AN and CK.  Have you found the cyberknife support group? www.cyberknifesupport.org ?  There are doctors who answer questions who could point in the right direction based on where you live - and would most likely be able to give you the name of a doctor too.

Hope this helps! Suzanne
left side 2.0cm x 1.3cm  
Cyberknife - 12/2005
The Barrow Institute, Phoenix, AZ

ppearl214

• Administrator
  • ANA Forum Policewoman - PBW Cursed Cruise Director
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2006, 08:17:39 pm »
Suzanne, great post... you beat me to it! :)

The CK support website really is the best bet for referencing the CK centers around the States. Don't forget Beth Israel in Boston either.... will kepe you all updated on how they do!
"Gentlemen, I wash my hands of this weirdness", Capt Jack Sparrow - Davy Jones Locker, "Pirates of the Carribbean - At World's End"

becknell

« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2006, 09:07:41 pm »
Carol -- The University of Pittsburg has both gamma knife and cyberknife, but their web site contains this statement: "We continue to prefer the gamma knife for brain radiosurgery." Do not know why this is, would be interested to hear what they have to say about that. After talking with you, I think we're going to seek an opinion from them as well. Jen

Mark

« Reply #4 on: March 14, 2006, 12:12:07 am »
Carol,