Author Topic: AN/Brainstem  (Read 2884 times)

Jackie

AN/Brainstem
« on: March 13, 2011, 01:40:48 pm »
Looking for opinions on position of AN in regards to the brain stem. Must the AN be PRESSING on the brainstem for problems or just be next to it???
Greatly appreciate your opinions, please!
Jackie
9mm x 11mm Right Side AN mild Tinnitis, and 60% hearing loss
Diagnosed 02/04/2007
Nov.13th, diagnosed with 5mm Meningioma
9/24/08 diagnosed with Aneurysm
Wait and watch per ENT's advice and researching my options!!! What's next???

Jim Scott

• 1943-2020 Please keep Jim's family in your hearts
Re: AN/Brainstem
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2011, 01:59:42 pm »
Jackie ~

I'm not a doctor, obviously, but to the best of my knowledge, its the size and location of the AN that causes problems.  Pressing on the brainstem (as mine was) exacerbates problems.  My AN was very large (4.5 cm) but only caused problems (imbalance, loss of taste, intermittent 'stabbing' pain) in the 6 months prior to my diagnosis.  By then, it was pressing hard on my brainstem and had to be removed (well, debulked, actually) quickly - and it was.  All of my symptoms ceased immediately following the surgery.  The neurosurgeon said the AN was really pressing the brainstem and he was surprised that my symptoms weren't worse.  However, sometime small ANs can cause bigger problems tha the large ones.  Go figure. 

Jim
4.5 cm AN diagnosed 5/06.  Retrosigmoid surgery 6/06.  Follow-up FSR completed 10/06.  Tumor shrinkage & necrosis noted on last MRI.  Life is good. 

Life is not the way it's supposed to be. It's the way it is.  The way we cope with it is what makes the difference.

Tod

• My blog (work and life)
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2011, 06:18:26 pm »