Author Topic: Facial Recovery is VERY individual and not a One Size Fits All.  (Read 7739 times)

CROOKEDSMILE

I think this is important to talk about because I know how we are always comparing our recoveries to everyone else's. My prognosis given to me by my therapist is going to be different than the next person's prognosis. It is VERY individual based on the type and severity of the nerve injury PLUS I had a brainstem stroke during my operation making my prognosis for recovery and my healing expectations different from the norm. My therapist has told me at 2 years post op I am most likely done healing and that the synkinesis will be something that I will battle from here on out but with exercise and botox we can keep it in check. Being a nurse I understand that any insult to the brainstem that controls breathing, vitals, and other important functions for survival is a challenge but can be overcome. It is a factor to consider when looking at potential final outcomes. I do know that my therapy did change some when my facial retrainer got the news that a stroke was involved. This is very recent news that I found out 2 years after my surgery. SOOOOOOOO with this being said............Ask YOUR therapist about YOUR chance for full recovery, synkinesis, botox, facial retraining, etc. and see what YOUR prognosis is as it will most likely be different than my own. We all know that if you asked 100 doctors a question you would probably get 100 different answers. NONETHELESS................they are not GOD and no one has the right to take away our hope.  Medicine is a science and they are constantly discovering new therapies and as we know one day something is good for us and then the next day the medical folks will tell us that .......no, that will KILL you...that's bad for you. I refuse to give up hope, I refuse to believe that I am done healing at 2 years because I've seen people like Jeanlee get improvement after that mark and I will continue to have faith. I am frustr