Author Topic: If you decide to watch and wait ..how big before you have to get it out ?help  (Read 1856 times)

justsimplyrhonda

• http://rhondaclemmons.4t.com
I have my surgery Date set for Nov 20th ...but I have some other health issues going on depression is one and stress ...I really would like to get a hold on that and have a more positive outlook  before I go in ...I have had 2 Mri's the first dec 2006 it was 1.2 cm and then another Dec 2007 and it was 1.4 cm ....I was thinking of getting another Mri in Dec and setting my surgery for Jan do you all think that would be ok ...and what size is it considered it has to come out ....I also am worried about my kids ...I just really wanna be ready ...please tell me what you all think.
The surgery that Im having is gonna be through my ear .....the location is on my accustic nerve pressed up against my brain stem ....

vjgfamily

It's very difficult for me to suggest what path you should take, because I'm no expert.  But I was told that they tumor is very slow growing.  I don't have any knowledge of the size limits, and since my AN surgery was 20 years ago, I don't remember how big mine was (I want to say, "golf ball" size, but I may have exaggerated that in my mind over the years).  All I know is what I was told by Jack L. Pulec (my dr.)...slow growing.

I don't know if anyone's ever totally READY to have the surgery.  It's a tough thing, it is.

I'm not very current on the surgery (and options), but I bet they've improved the process over the years.  You can do it.

Verl
AN Surgery in 1988 by Jack L. Pulec in LA.  Loss of hearing in right ear.

sgerrard

Hi Rhonda,